Welcome to the Gillingstool Primary School Governors page. The Governing Body of Gillingstool School is made up of a range of people from many different backgrounds, including representatives from the Local Authority, the Local Community, Parents and Staff. All Governors are volunteers and offer their time, skills and experience to help run the School. Although Governors receive some training from the Local Authority, they are lay people, not experts and their role is to act as a critical or questioning friend.
Working as an efficient and effective team, we aim to achieve a standard of excellence appropriate to each individual, enriching, encouraging and equipping each child for their future education.

What the Governing Body Does
The role of the Governing Body is to work with the Head Teacher and Staff to offer all children at Gillingstool the best educational opportunities possible. Their main task is in the area of school improvement – in practice, continually trying to make the school the best it can be. Running the school on a daily basis is the responsibility of the Head and Staff – the Governing Body is responsible for:-
• managing the school’s budget
• reporting on the standards being achieved
• the appointment of senior staff and
• developing and maintaining a strategic vision for the school

How the Governing Body works
Governors meet as a Full Governing Body six times in an academic year. They also meet in two smaller sub-committees:
• Curriculum & Standards and
• Finance, Staffing & Premises
Business is conducted through meetings where decisions are made collectively as a team. The Governors’ role is strategic, while the Head, with whom they work closely, has responsibility for the day-to-day management of the school.

Mr G.  Corpe

Co-opted Governor

Mr M Stringer

Co-opted Governor

 Mr E. McNeile

Co-opted Governor

 Ms. K Wall

Co-opted Governor

Miss Leigh Dunkley

 Co-opted Governor

Mr S Ransom

Co-Opted Govenror

Mr Dave Llewellyn

Co-opted Governor/Chair of Governors

 Mrs C. Casey

Governor/Vice Chair

Mr L. Latif

Parent Governor

Mrs E. Stimpson

Staff Governor

Mr M Lough

Parent Governor

Mrs M Galliott

 Clerk to Governors